SeaKeeper of the Year

The SeaKeeper of the Year Award, presented each year at the Annual Founders Event, is given to an individual or organization that has demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to ocean conservation.

  • 2022 – Nainoa Thompson
  • 2021 – Commander Victor Vescovo, USN (Ret.)
  • 2019 – Amos Nachoum
  • 2018 – Michael Saylor
  • 2017 – Wendy Schmidt
  • 2016 – Alexander W. Dreyfoos
  • 2015 – Fabien Cousteau
  • 2014 – Wendy Benchley
  • 2013 – The Sargasso Sea Alliance
  • 2012 – agnès b. - Tara Ocean Foundation
  • 2011 – Kelly Slater
  • 2010 – HSH Prince Albert II
  • 2008 – Bernie Marcus
  • 2007 – Ted Danson
  • 2006 – Walter Cronkite
  • 2005 – Admiral James Watkins, USN (Ret.)
  • 2004 – Bob Talbot
  • 2003 – William K. Reilly
  • 2002 – Sir Peter Blake (posthumously)
  • 2001 – Mikhail Gorbachev
  • 2000 – HRH Khaled bin Sultan
  • 1999 – Craig O. McCaw
  • 1998 – James Cameron
  • 1997 – Dr. Sylvia Earle
  • 1997 – Marjory Stoneman Douglas
  • 1996 – HSH Prince Rainier III
  • 1996 – Jean-Michel Cousteau

NextGen Award Recipients

The key to ensuring continuity in ocean conservation is the next generation of leadership. The NextGen Award is presented to candidates under 45 years of age who are actively involved in protecting the oceans either individually or providing leadership to an organization.

  • 2022 – Lehua Kamalu
  • 2021 – Blue Latitudes Foundation
  • 2019 – Katharine Zacarian
  • 2018 – Marissa Miller
  • 2018 – Phillip Bell
  • 2018 – Kristal Ambrose

SeaKeepers of the World

In June 2015, we launched the SeaKeepers of the World Program to identify individuals who demonstrate a commitment to ocean research and conservation in their local communities. SeaKeepers Board of Directors recognizes individuals whose environmental goals and scientific and conservation efforts align with the SeaKeepers mission: Research. Educate. Protect and Restore. The International SeaKeepers Society will be identifying SeaKeepers of the World over the next year to represent regions around the globe.

SeaKeepers of the World Award Recipients

  • Rani Bin Awang - 2022 SeaKeeper of Malaysia
  • H.E. Olai Uludong - 2022 SeaKeeper of Palau
  • Dr. Zeehan Jaafar - 2020 SeaKeeper of Singapore
  • Dr. Achier Chung - 2019 SeaKeeper of Malaysia
  • Michael Henry - 2018 SeaKeeper of the Cook Islands
  • Dr. Karenne Tun – 2018 SeaKeeper of Singapore
  • Francis Lee – 2017 SeaKeeper of Singapore
  • Francesca Thyssen-Bornemisza (Alligator Head Foundation) – 2017 SeaKeeper of Jamaica
  • Judie Clee – 2017 SeaKeeper of Bermuda
  • Chris Flook – 2017 SeaKeeper of Bermuda
  • Philippe Max Rouja – 2017 SeaKeeper of Bermuda
  • John Paul Skinner – 2017 SeaKeeper of Bermuda
  • Dr. Carrie Manfrino – 2016 SeaKeeper of the Cayman Islands
  • Professor Chou Loke Ming – 2016 SeaKeeper of Singapore
  • Dr. Cécile Gaspar – 2015 SeaKeeper of French Polynesia
  • Casper van de Geer – 2015 SeaKeeper of Kenya
  • Commodore Escrich – 2015 SeaKeeper of Cuba

SeaKeepers Asia Achievement Awards

The International SeaKeepers Society Asia Achievement Award is awarded yearly since 2016. The award seeks to recognise an Organisation/ Corporation/Government agency in Asia, that demonstrates a responsibility towards the health of Asia’s marine environment because of who they are and what they do to take a lead role.

Whereby fulfilling accountability, by integrating social and marine environmental concerns in their primary operations either directly as part of their core business or as part of their corporate social responsibility programme. This could come in the form of Research and/or Education and/or Protection and/or Restoration.

SeaKeepers Asia Award Recipients

  • 2022 - REEFS Research Group of the Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT)
  • 2020 - Sea Communities
  • 2019 - Gili Shark Conservation Project
  • 2018 – YTL Hotels
  • 2017 – Nature Society Singapore, Marine Conservation Group
  • 2016 – Maritime & Port Authority of Singapore (MPA)

Awards Received

The International SeaKeepers Society has received a number of prestigious awards recognizing efforts in
ocean conservation.


2023 Proclamation from The City of Miami

On September 14th, 2023, The International SeaKeepers Society received an official Proclamation from the City of Miami for our considerable efforts in improving local ecosystem health through community involvement. The City of Miami chose to honor our organization after a local community member and previous volunteer with SeaKeepers at our bi-monthly coastal cleanups recommended us to be recognized.


2023 Outstanding Community Contributor Award

On August 4th, 2023, SeaKeepers received an Award for Outstanding Community Contributor at the Girl Power Rocks Student Showcase. The Outstanding Community Contributor Award recognizes an organization's contribution to Girl Power's 2023 Summer STEAM & Workforce Readiness Camp. The award was presented at The Historic Lyric Theater in Overtown, Florida.


2023 YPY's Charity of the Year Award

On January 28th, 2023, SeaKeepers received the Charity of the Year Award at the Young Professionals in Yachting (YPY) Annual Gala. The Charity of the Year Award recognizes an organization as their charity partner to become their focus for collaboration for the year. The annual YPY Gala was presented at the Oceanic in Pompano Beach, Florida.


2018 Best Green Boating Initiative Award

On January 4th, 2018, SeaKeepers Asia received the Best Green Boating Initiative Award at the Christofle Yacht Style Awards 2018 during the Phuket Rendezvous. SeaKeepers Julian Chang was the recipient of the award. The inaugural Christofle Yacht Style Awards 2018 were presented at Phuket Boat Lagoon on the first night of the rendezvous.


2014 ISS Blue Award Recipient

SeaKeepers received the 2014 Fabien Cousteau Blue Award, an environmental honor given by the International Superyacht Society (ISS). The Fabien Cousteau Blue Award honors stewardship of the marine environment. Candidates for the award must exhibit environmental leadership and dedication to oceanic conservation.


2006 International Superyacht Leadership Award

The International SeaKeepers Society was named the recipient of the much-heralded Leadership Award by the International Superyacht Society (ISS). The ISS’s Annual Leadership Award honors an individual or company whose distinctive work and commitment to the industry have contributed to the growth of the superyacht community worldwide.


2002 Environment Award from The Tech Museum of Innovation

The SeaKeeper 1000 unit (now discontinued) won the 2002 Environment Award from The Tech Museum of Innovation. In 2002, 61 society members and 4 cruise lines had installed SeaKeeper 1000 units, and 14 yacht manufacturers had agreed to include the technology on their boats/ships.